Surely I’m not the only one who keeps the ribbons from presents.

Anyone else who does this would know that keeping them organized is a piece of work. I remember having a box full of rolled up ribbons, neatly arranged by color and width… until I pull one out to use it, another spool of ribbon gets tangled a bit, and then the next thing I know, everything’s in disarray. Great.

After months of having a box full of entangled ribbon, I finally did something about it. The answer? Toilet paper rolls. It’s cheap, easy to make, and matches my craft drawer (okay, maybe just a bit).

Ribbon Tube

Materials:

  • Toilet paper roll
  • Cutter/scissors

Step 1: Figure out how many ribbons you can roll around one toilet paper tube by measuring each ribbon’s width. Mine ended up to be one thick ribbon and two thin ones.

Step 2: Cut a slit for each ribbon. Make them 2mm longer than the ribbon’s width.

Step 3: Insert one end of the ribbon into the slit around 1″ in. You may tape it down on the inside if you want. I didn’t bother.

Step 4: Secure other end in many different ways — tuck it in, tape it, pin it, etc. You can cut the end of the tube and clip the ribbon in (see purple ribbon) but you’ll definitely run the risk of unrolling it. Yes, bad idea, but I’m just showing you options. 🙂

