How to Preserve Roses

A little late to the party, but here goes.

Like the adorable guy that he is, The Boyfriend gave me a bouquet of roses for Valentines Day. I know I will always remember the way he stood at the train station in his black shirt, waiting for me with the bouquet in hand. But a memory is not enough so I preserved the roses to decorate my room and remind me everyday of life’s pleasant surprises.

Below is a simple step-by-step guide on how to preserve roses.

Materials:

Scissors

String

Hanger or hooks, basically a place to hang the flowers

Step 1: When the roses are starting to wilt, carefully take them out from the bundle. If you prefer to keep the bouquet as it is, skip to Step 3.

Step 2: Gently pull away the petals that are already coming off. You may also opt to get rid of the leaves.

Step 3: Snip off a piece of string and tie around the stem. Make sure you tie under a node so the rose won’t slip off when you hang it upside down. If you’re preserving a whole bouquet, tie the string near the base of the bundle. Make sure that it’s secure and can hold the weight of the entire thing.

I used a really thin copper wire for this one. Crochet thread is okay, too.

Step 4: Tie the other end of the strong around a hanger or a hook. There should be enough space between flowers so they won’t touch each other. If the rose is starting to bend at the stem below the sepals, drying them upside down will “correct” it.

The sixth rose didn’t survive the “unbundling”. 😦

Step 5: Let it dry for at least a week. I let mine dry for two weeks.

  

Step 6: Once the roses are completely dry, take them off the string and arrange on a vase.

IMPORTANT: Take extra care in handling them as the petals and leaves are now brittle and might just fall off.

I know my “arrangement” doesn’t come close to the florist’s but I’m happy with the outcome. It took quite a while to put everything in a narrow vase with minimal damage to the petals, but I did it. 🙂

  

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

